"Boys in Our Books"…

…we're keeping our name but expanding our offerings!

REVIEW: “Promises Part I” by A. E. Via

ABOUT:

Duke Morgan owns and operates one of the largest bail bond companies in Atlanta. Not only does he bond criminals out of jail, he and his notorious group of bounty hunters will also track them down and ensure they show up for court.

Roman ‘Quick’ Webb is Duke’s business partner and best friend. Both men are in their forties and have given up on the happily ever after with the ranch-style home, and white picket fence. They’d both tried it and failed miserably. But they have their friendship and they have the business.

When Quick’s son, Vaughan Webb returns – after seven years – from studying abroad with his law degree in hand, he’s back to claim what he’s always wanted…his fathers’ best friend… Duke Morgan. Vaughan has always claimed to be a classic gentleman with an old soul. He didn’t party and screw up in school like his buddies. He was focused and dedicated to becoming the man worthy of Duke’s love.

It’s a complex and messy situation as Duke and Quick figure out how to still be best friends when one of them is sleeping with his friend’s one and only son. But when Duke is hurt on the job, all the unimportant trivialities fall to the wayside and Vaughan and Quick put their heads together to save Duke.

BOOK INFO:
promisesTitle: Promises Part I
Author: A.E. Via
Publisher: Via Star Wings Publishing
Pages: 260
Release Date: October 16, 2015
Purchase Links: Amazon

REVIEW:

I had a lot of high hopes for this book. Having enjoyed Via’s very OTT series, Nothing Special, I knew, for the most part, what to expect. I guess I got that, but after a bit, the story that I was really liking, started to slow down and while there isn’t a cliffhanger, I was left without resolution. I liked this, don’t get me wrong. I think I was just expecting more.

While this isn’t an insta-love book, Duke fell hard and he fell fast. Vaughn loves Duke, always has, so that didn’t bother me so much. But Duke’s feelings and connection felt off. Really, I still feel like Duke only loves Vaughn because he finally found someone to be really nice to him. Someone who will care for him the way he deserves and wants. That’s great, it is. I’m just a little unconvinced that there is anything more to it… except for the big thing that literally ties them together early on in the story.

Still, the build up was fun, the potential for where the story will go in the next book makes me itch for it. The introduction of new characters has me fascinated and wanting to know their stories. Reflecting back, when I read the first book in the Nothing Special series, I had a hard time with that one too. Maybe my introduction to Via’s books start out rocky and evolve from there. One thing is for certain, I still enjoyed myself. I found a connection to the characters for various reasons. So I’m looking forward to continuing on and finding out where this story goes.

About Kristie

I like to read, cook, play video games, and generally ignore most people. I hate talking on the phone, but for a small handful of people. I do my best to make my life as simple as possible. I also enjoy hanging out with my husband who makes me laugh every day.

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on November 2, 2015 by in Contemporary, Cops / Cowboys / Military, Reviewer: Kristie and tagged , , , .

Follow Us On Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

Archives